Why Talladega is NASCAR’s big manufacturer vs manufacturer battle – NASCAR

Save 20% on CBD Products with "Save20"

There are many unknowns about Sunday’s NASCAR Cup race at Talladega, but one thing appears clear – manufacturer loyalty will supersede duty to drivers’ individual teams.

Cup teams have been faced with new aero rules, including the replacement of restrictor-plates with tapered spacers, and the changes have proved challenging for both the paddock and NASCAR itself this weekend.

The 2019 rules, which were not used at the season-opening Daytona 500, are a major adjustment for teams that have had many years to master the previous restrictor plate method of controlling speeds at the series’ two fastest speedways – Daytona and Talladega.

Changes had to be made immediate after first practice at Talladega on Friday, as the high speeds initially being attained alarmed teams.

While many drivers remain unsure how the aero rules will play out in Sunday’s race, there seems little doubt Talladega will continue to pit the three manufacturers and their top teams against each other.

Toyota was first to use a ‘manufacturer-first’ attack plan to superspeedway races in the 2016 Daytona 500, which helped produce driver Denny Hamlin’s first 500 victory.

The idea is drivers should do what they can to win, but also recognise that they should also do what they can to ensure if they don’t win, another driver from their manufacturer does.

“It’s because of Toyota – they started it when we went to Daytona in the 500, and they kicked everyone’s butt because they were selfless and stayed together,” Ford driver Joey Logano said.

“We have taken that model and tried to make it better with working together and we have found success because of that.

“It is part of the game now. The cars are not what made it like that.

“Everyone used to help their team-mate here and there but manufacturers didn’t really work together and weren’t committed to each other.

“Once we saw how those four cars were able to stay committed to each other and beat everyone that day in Daytona, that forever changed the draft.

“That moment was a key moment in superspeedway history, in my opinion.”

Last autumn at Talladega, the four Stewart-Haas Racing Ford drivers qualified first through fourth and worked diligently to run that way throughout the course of 500 miles.

The strategy proved successful, with SHR’s Aric Almirola holding off team-mate Clint Bowyer to pick up the victory.

New rules or not, that same philosophy is likely to guide Sunday’s race.

Chevrolet drivers met on Saturday to discuss how they can best work together to produce a win or one their own.

“It’s just looking at how the other teams have been successful in the last couple of plate races – you look at those guys and they’re grouping up and they’re dictating the race,” said Chevy driver and pole winner Austin Dillon.

“We don’t want to be in that position where we’re having to fight from behind the whole time and we have good numbers at Chevy and we need to use them.

“It’s just looking at what the competition has done and trying to make it better.”

Toyota driver Martin Truex Jr, the 2017 Cup series champion said numbers dictated the original manufacturer strategy.

“There’s a lot less Toyotas than anything else. So it’s changed a lot for us, I would say more than anyone,” he said.

“Strength in numbers has been kind of against us.

“But in general, the manufacturers have really worked hard at getting their teams all together and, and try and do the best job they can and get their manufacturer in Victory Lane.”

Regardless of the impact of the new aero rules, don’t expect that overriding objective to change at Talladega this Sunday afternoon.

Starting grid

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 49.734s
2 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 49.841s 0.107s
3 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 49.947s 0.213s
4 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 49.965s 0.231s
5 Daniel Hemric Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 50.022s 0.288s
6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 50.037s 0.303s
7 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford 50.080s 0.346s
8 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford 50.112s 0.378s
9 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 50.164s 0.430s
10 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 50.193s 0.459s
11 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 50.201s 0.467s
12 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford 50.251s 0.517s
13 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 50.310s
14 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 50.316s
15 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford 50.344s
16 Daniel Suarez Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 50.419s
17 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing Ford 50.421s
18 Matt Tifft Front Row Motorsports Ford 50.447s
19 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 50.450s
20 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 50.482s
21 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 50.519s
22 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 50.593s
23 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 50.596s
24 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing Ford 50.614s
25 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 50.699s
26 Matt DiBenedetto Leavine Family Racing Toyota 50.817s
27 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 50.821s
28 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 50.870s
29 Tyler Reddick Beard Motorsports Chevrolet 51.170s
29 Brendan Gaughan Beard Motorsports Chevrolet
30 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 51.269s
31 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 51.374s
32 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 51.382s
33 Jeffrey Earnhardt XCI Racing Toyota 51.432s
34 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 51.800s
35 Parker Kligerman Gaunt Brothers Racing Toyota 52.081s
36 Corey LaJoie Go FAS Racing Ford 52.100s
37 Reed Sorenson Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 52.184s
38 J.J. Haley Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 52.197s
39 Stanton Barrett Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 52.984s
40 Cody Ware Petty Ware Racing Chevrolet 53.148s

Related posts

Leave a Comment